What is the ISO 14000 Standard?

ISO 14000 series is an Environmental Standards that is regulated by the ISO Standard development committee TC 207. This series is designed to cover the whole area of environmental aspects for organisations, assisting them as a solid framework to identify, prioritise, manage and control environmental risks.

ISO 14001 consists of:

  • General requirements
  • Environmental policy
  • Planning
  • Implementation and operation
  • Checking and corrective action
  • Management review

ISO 14000 series family comprise other environmental standards and guidelines that have been developed by the TC 207 ISO committee, the most relevant to EMS are:

  • ISO 14004 – Environmental Management Systems – General Guidelines on Principles Systems and Supporting Techniques
  • ISO 14010 – Guidelines for Environmental Auditing – General Principles of Environmental Auditing
  • ISO 14011 – Guidelines for Environmental Auditing – Audit Procedures – Auditing of Environmental Management Systems
  • ISO 14012 – Guidelines for Environmental Auditing – Qualification Criteria for Environmental Auditors


  • Enhancing competitiveness to avoid international trade barriers
  • Improving process efficiency
  • Preventing uncertainties and risks
  • Reducing cost by reducing raw material use, energy consumption and disposal costs etc
  • Demonstrating current status of compliance with legal requirements
For Enquiries